How To Install Programs In Linux (.gz &.bz & RPM)

Posted: August 22, 2007 in Linux

Ok, Many first Time Linux Users Are very confused on how to actually install programs in Linux Distribution. Through This Post I hope to provide a Complete guide To on how to install .gz , .bz and RPM files in any Linux distribution.

Why Is It made This Way In Linux??

Most First TIme Users Think That Linux is “Not That Good” becuase it doesnt just have pre compiled Installation setup files. But This is far from reality you see, Linux is about freedom of choice, so even in installing programs we can customize the program before we actually use it. And also because of this method of compiing installation files on your local computer, it makes almost any program able to run on any Distribution of Linux.

HOW TO INSTALL :

1. Start Bash (The Shell) and navigate your way to your installation file’s folder. Then type: ( Here pkg is the name of the package)

"tar xvzf pkg.tar.gz" ( If File Is a GZ) "tar xvjf pkg.tar.bz2" ( If Files is a BZ)

After this command a New Folder Would Be Created in the Same Location with the Package Name.


2.Next Move Into The Newly Created Folder.

Use "ls" command to look for the folder Then Type cd pkg"(Enter) ( Here pkg is the Name of the Newly Created Folder )


3. Next Go Into Super User Mode. Super User Mode in Linux is Like Having temparary Admin Priviledges just to install programs and perform other complex tasks.

Type "su" (Enter)
Then Type in Your ROOT password when prompted


4. Now We’ll Install The App.

Type "./configure" (Enter)

Type "make" (Enter) Then "make install" (Enter)

Then "make clean" (Enter)

Then "exit" (Enter)

Now Your Done!!!!

Comments
  1. Hamla says:

    Nice explanation it worked for me even i was total begginer. Used linux for 2 days or so :)

  2. sarithp2 says:

    keep it up , Within a week you’ll hate linux but stick to it you’ll learn to love it!

  3. Greg says:

    did all this for thunderbird 2 . just said no such file or directory.

    I’m lost…

  4. Nojrul Islam says:

    Khankir chele tor ma ke chudi…

  5. DNA says:

    not working!
    in the step of “./configure”
    it’s saying
    “bash: ./configure: No such file or directory”
    what do i suppose to do?

  6. miro says:

    Thanks alot for sharing !

  7. subhash says:

    not working!
    in the step of “./configure”
    it’s saying
    “bash: ./configure: No such file or directory”
    what do i suppose to do?

  8. Hello, thanks for showing this=)
    this is what happening
    i’m writing “./configure”
    it’s just get closes:S

    if i make a shield 2 its says:
    No such file or directory”
    Can you mail me or add me on msn and help me?

  9. jack cruz says:

    thats the problem with linux and why it will never be more mainstream, if you have to go thru all of this just to install a program its not worth it, you should be able to just double click on it like in windows, and again this is why more of the world will not use linux

    • jigs says:

      Well it’s not like you install programs 6 times a day, once you install them they are in and you dont need to bother with them

  10. jack -AaaaSaaaSaa says:

    thats why most of the windows user like jack only knows how to click…but again that’s how windows work.

  11. valeriy says:

    i boot linux from cd, download icq.rpm,
    when in bash i write /icq.rpm, it answer Permission denied :-(

    what i must do??

    sorry for my english

  12. tinydrew93 says:

    Hey this Is TechGuy90210 i am new to Linux Mint, and i am also new to WordPress, i made one this afternoon. So i was wondering if you could break that down for me. Leave me a Comment with it Broke down easier on my WordPress page thanks.

    http://www.andrewwelsh.wordpress.com

  13. danielle says:

    this makes no sense to me can someone please help me install BitTyrant

    • sarithp2 says:

      Canyou please tell me about the program yours trying to install ?? Is it in the .gz or a rpm file ? What a your Os type ?? Your a complete new comer to Linux ??

  14. Chris says:

    I’m new to Linux and am having the same problem a lot of others seem to be having. I have a .gz file for ActiveTCL. I followed your instructions, but when I get to the “./configure” step, it just says “bash: ./configure: No such file or directory”.

    What do I do?

    • sarithp2 says:

      ok bear with me on this one.

      First:
      Check whether your in the correct directory before you run the ./configure command. Meaning did you navigate (from within the shell) into the proper directory where you have extracted the files? Because ./configure is not a command, but rather a file inside the directory that gets executed.
      Second:
      Go into that directory and check if the configure file is there! Also check if a install file is there

    • raghavendra says:

      cd to that directory where that s/w is present ( which exists iff u have unzipped and unarchived it)
      and then run ./configure

  15. Chris says:

    I am in the extracted directory and there’s an install.sh file, but no configure file. So what does that mean?

    • sarithp2 says:

      goto into the directory and try running ./install
      i’m completely guessing here… :(

      what is the program your trying to install??

  16. Chris says:

    The program is ActiveTCL, a TCL programming tool.

    I’m not very familiar with it either. Kind of thrown into this with my job to give me more experience.

    Tried running ./install from within the directory and still nothing. Same result as with ./configure.

    Does the location of the directory matter at all? Currently it’s on the desktop.

  17. Chris says:

    I think I got it. Ran ./install.sh and that brought up a graphical installation interface.

    Thanks for the help!

    • James says:

      What/where on earth is bash or shell???

      How do you navigate to ‘which’ folder ‘where?’

      Try writing instructions in English please…

      Fail.

      As was mentioned before.. This programme install joke is possibly the single greatest reason that Linux (as is) can never move into the ‘public’ domain.

      Why is it not set up as, ‘download .tgz file’, then, extract to, ‘App/Program folder’.

      Finished!

      Why???

      Please someone tell me why. ???????????????????????????????????????????

      Such an ironic shame that I am FORCED to use fucking Windows by Linux geeks.

  18. Chris says:

    Okay…maybe a few more noob questions. Supposedly this package is installed. Where do I access it now? It doesn’t show up with any of the other apps.

  19. Chris says:

    Tried installing another program. This one had the configure file. I ran it, then moved on to the “Make” command and I get “bash: make: command not found”.

    I’m using OpenSUSE Linux, the latest version with KDE. The program I was trying to install was TCC (Tiny C Compiler).

  20. sarithp2 says:

    It’s LIke this, if the program was correctly installed the first time, it SHOULD appear in some are of the start menu, remember to look under administrative programs and all other menus as such.
    If it is no where to be found, then most likely it didn’t install correctly, did the installation process go through without ANY error messages??

    In order to run the MAKE command , you have to have some extra programs pre installed such as Glib c and others. if your using OpenSuse, why dont you instlal your needed software using YAST??

  21. sarithp2 says:

    Look i did some snooping around and found out that opensuse doesnt come with the defualt utilities for creating and compiling programs. So before you are able to run MAKE you need to have these software installed :

    gcc,
    gcc-c++
    and binutils

    You can install these by going into YAST or Kynaptic and search for Build Essentials :)

    A word of advice, save your self from alot of trouble by always searching in YAST for any program you need, most likely the YAST database will have it. Try and keep compiling your own programs as a last resort. I dont know about hardcore linux users, but that’s normally what i do :) he he

  22. sarithp2 says:

    Dear Chris,
    I added a new post on how to get around the Make Command Not found error.
    Pls view :
    http://geekdomain.wordpress.com/2009/01/28/make-command-in-linux/

    Sorry i took this long to come up with a proper answer :/

  23. [...] Posts How To Install Compiz On UBUNTU 8.10 (Intrepid Ibex)How To Install Programs In Linux (.gz &.bz & RPM)Sharing Files Between Windows and Linux (Xp, Vista, Ubuntu)Migrating From Windows Xp/Vista To Linux [...]

  24. Chris says:

    Many thanks!

  25. Chris says:

    Wow, I hate being a complete noob, but I’m still having problems. I got the three programs you said I’d need installed (gcc, gcc-c++, and binutils). Searching for Build Essentials turned up nothing. Installing those three helped with one error I was getting about the C compiler not being present. So I ran ./configure in the directory from the extracted gz file and it went off without any issue. Then I go to MAKE and get the same “bash: make: command not found” error. Maybe you have a suggestion about a better build of Linux to use?

  26. sarithp2 says:

    UBUNTU!!!!

    Trust me, i also used Suse, then i moved on to Open Suse.
    But from all the linux distro’s i’ve used , ubuntu is the best experience that i’ve had soo far. I mean i hate to be a biased writer, but Ubuntu simply had the Best Out-Of-The-Box experience.
    This has many reasons, because Ubuntu, you may already know this is based on Debian, so it’s has a stronger support community and the system is more stable and strong.

    If you just download Ubuntu, please remember to download the MOST-STABLE version. When i last looked on (29/01/2009) it was 8.04 but me persoanlly i’m using 8.10 and the program support for it is very good.

    And please remember to download the 32 bit version. PLEASE! trust me you do NOT want to go into the headache of running a pure 64bit OS.

    If you download Ubuntu, let me know of any prob you come across, i’m using the same, so i will be able to help better :)

  27. sarithp2 says:

    Again, i’m really sorry if i wasnt good enough of a help :|

  28. Chris says:

    I have Ubuntu, but used OpenSUSE because it’s what my work uses. I have a couple of old desktops that I’m using to learn Linux, so I’ll just install Ubuntu on one of them and go from there.

    Thanks for the assistance!

  29. Nick says:

    How do you Start bash shell?

  30. Jo says:

    Some things are just to strange. Though the explanation comes with the best intentions I am completely lost. Installing OpenSUSE was not to much of a problem. Downloading of OpenOffice worked OK but I have no clue how to navigate to a directory and get the installation started.

    Please help a dummy.

    Thanks, Jo

  31. Admin says:

    if your using opensuse, just install open office through YAST instead of downloading it separately, saves alot of time and frustration. :S

  32. Jo says:

    Sorry that I am blind. I try YAST and used all options in the Software Group. It seems none allows me to select the file that sits on my desk top or allows me to connect to a website.

    When I try installation of Opera it offers to install right there. So I select Installation and not Save. The Linux Installer window comes up if I do not select TAR but the File Roller comes up on TAR selection. I get to the point where all files are unpacked in the TMP folder. Full Stop right there.

    Can you give me a more specific sequence of events?

    Thanks again for your patience. Jo

  33. Admin says:

    from what i understand so far,

    “The Linux Installer window comes up if I do not select TAR but the File Roller comes up on TAR selection. I get to the point where all files are unpacked in the TMP folder. Full Stop right there.”

    your on the right path but i think you just have gotten a tad bit confused.

    you see that first step in the tutorial?? well that step is for extracting all the files out of the tar file. that step can be easily skipped by extracting the files from a program, what you gotta do next is,

    in the bash prompt, first get into your desktop directory, the easiest way to do this is, from your file explorer, goto your desktop folder, find the url (k:\user\desktop something like this) then
    in the bash type “cd” (space) *press enter*

    now you will be in your desktop folder,

    from there why dont you try continuing from step 2??

  34. Wonderpee says:

    i was trying to install the tv card driver but when i tried typing sudo apt-get, this window will come telling me of my profile why?

  35. Admin says:

    what exactly is the window saying???

  36. I like PC-BSD en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PC-BSD , installing the pre-built software is the easy http://www.pbidir.com

  37. [...] 1-http://en.wikipedia.org/ 2-http://www.linuxforums.org/ 3-http://geekdomain.wordpress.com/ box [...]

  38. Frank Barren says:

    AAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I FUCKING HATE LINUX
    I FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUXCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGG HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTEEEE

    LINUX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  39. David says:

    Then why are you using it?

  40. Hey, I’m new enough to linux that I don’t even know what the frak “bash” is. Can’t find it. At all. So your instructions do me no good. Any chance you could go back a few steps and really make it for beginners?

  41. CR says:

    nice exp but i got an error after giving below command
    “./configure”
    error: newly created file is older than distributed files!
    can any one help me

  42. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people for this subject, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking
    about! Thanks

  43. Interesting… How do you know that?

  44. laptopdragon says:

    stuck at “make”
    reports = ***no targets specified and no makefile found. stop.

    also, where are we supposed to extract the programs ? trying to install Lives video editing

    thanks for any ehlp

  45. Greetings, I think your website could possibly be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks
    fine however, if opening in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, excellent site!

  46. Hi, Neat post. There is an issue along with your web site
    in internet explorer, might test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a huge component of people will omit your magnificent writing due to this
    problem.

  47. Hi there, simply become aware of your blog via Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in case you continue this in future. Lots of folks can be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  48. You are so awesome! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read through a single thing like this before.

    So great to find another person with genuine thoughts on this subject matter.
    Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!
    streetdirectory

  49. The first rule of thumb is to have your customer look at the different xpert
    auto care jobs you can choose from. The Xpert Auto
    Care will then have to carry out. Many garages encourage this and may even
    offer paid training. But we like to think that we ‘get’
    our customer better than any other brand.

  50. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a
    comment is added I get three emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Bless you!

  51. vijay says:

    hello sir i am new here working on linux
    plz tell me how to install tata docomo dongle in debian linux

  52. MrLiberty1776 says:

    Does NOT Work for Me in BackTrack5R3 Here is what I keep getting >>>
    root@bt:/home# tar xvzf pkg.tar.gz
    tar: pkg.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
    ### The File was downloaded and saved to my Home Folder!

  53. Ellie says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. All the best

  54. We needed to compose an individual 1 small remark also ultimately appreciate it very much over again to your desirable facts you have mentioned onn this website.

    Many experts have seriously open-handed using persons like you to allow
    quickly juat what a few people will often have
    offered being an electronic publication that can help together with
    making a number of money with regards to personal conclusion, most significantly since you can have tried
    the idea in case you wished. These tips likewise acted like an alternative way to fully understand many individuals include comparable awareness similar to this very own to determine a lot more in respect
    on this make any difference. I beleve there are various more
    enjoyable predicaments at the start those of you that start
    out looking at the firewood submit.

  55. Head not stuck up my ass says:

    Jesus fucking christ. No wonder nobody uses linux.

  56. Jerry Warrington says:

    “Bash” is a foreign jargon to me, never heard of it, therefore, total confusion. I think it may be a “shell” like PCLinux XFCE Phoenix I use. But how in the world DOES ONE get from “Download” to some “run” field¿? What in the world would it be called;?? what is its path? I’ve been using Windows since DOS 3.1 but this is total confusion because of all the different jargon!

  57. Sattishakumar says:

    Thank you …..very brief

  58. Great weblog right here! Also your site quite a bit up fast!

    What web host are you using? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink for your host?
    I desire my website loaded up as fast as yours lol.

Leave a Reply

